What Motivates You?

Today’s post is about motivation and in part, procrastination. I am a master procrastinator, I can find a dozen different excuses or tasks to put ahead of something that could be very simple but not something I really want to do.

For instance, the game I’m currently working on is not one I particularly like in the Final Fantasy franchise, but as part of my year long run, I have to play it all the way through. Now, I did better on getting further in the game today than I did yesterday and I think part of that is from the caffeine kick from a Mountain Dew Livewire I drank this morning (which I don’t normally do; I’m not huge on caffeine.). But a couple weeks ago, I could not find the energy or desire to play this game. I think part of me was just burned out because I had blown through the three prior to it and it was all I had been playing for two months. So yes, it is possible I was just burned out by the series.

That being said, after struggling through a week of not wanting to play this game, and having watched Jared play something different while he was visiting me, I decided to start my own run of the same game he was playing. As of right now, I’m about two-thirds done with that game, but it’s easy enough to pick up where I left off (because it actually tells you what your next task is on the load screen) so I’m not worried about forgetting my place. And I think playing something a little more interaction helped clear my head of the cobwebs and dust clouding it from playing these other games so now I’m more motivated to play, even though I don’t really want to sometimes. Like I said earlier, it’s not one of my favorites in the series; if you asked me to rank them, this one would probably be in the bottom five. It’s not a bad game, just not one I enjoy either.

If you’ve been following along from the start of this blog, you’ll also know that I have been trying to schedule more writing time into my daily schedule because, again, my writing generally was taking a back seat to everything else and I couldn’t let that happen anymore. And while some days I forget it entirely, and thus make time for it the next day, I have been keeping up with my writing, even if I’m not posting something here. Like for example, right now, or rather earlier in the day, I was working on a detailed outline/synopsis for my personal novel because I discovered that both my bestie Arabella and I were very confused by all the varying changes (since I’ve been working on this since high school and it has gone through at least 15 different drafts). Plus there have been new, deeper character developments that have to get incorporated, which will be a challenge in and of itself. So I started that on Friday and was working more on it today, only to find out I screwed up the new stuff today and had to start over because I missed some crucial stuff while I was putting down information on the next chapters.

Needless to say, completely finishing this novel is going to take a hell of a lot more work than finishing a video game, but I know it’ll be worth it once I put my nose to the grindstone and put my best effort forward. Even though I have a dozen other smaller projects to work on…But that’ll be a post for another night.

Over to you! What motivates you to do something you don’t want to do? Or even something you do want to do? I’m curious to know! Much love ❤

**

So after posting that first half, it occurred to me that I didn’t really answer the question about what motivates me! I guess what motivates me most is the feeling of accomplishment, of having done something you didn’t think you could or were told you couldn’t do. That’s probably more for the writing aspect of it. For the gaming, it’s more about being able to move on to the next game and the next game. Once I get to the games I enjoy playing and haven’t played in a while, it’ll be easier to play longer and more often because I’ll want to. As opposed to having to play because of the time crunch. For other, smaller projects, my motivation is getting them done quickly to move on to bigger projects that might be more fun to do, or not, depending on the project. Or in the case of working out, feeling good afterwards, and more flexible and/or strong. It’s all about feeling good, no matter what you’re working towards. If you don’t feel good about something, put it aside and come back to it later. So there you have it! What motivates me. Have a good night! ❤

Author: Valentina Wolfe

A self proclaimed nerd, anxiety sufferer, and lover of all things Final Fantasy, Legend of Zelda, Lord of the Rings, and Harry Potter. Enjoys writing, listening to music, reading, and gaming in my spare time. Also hanging out with one or two close friends.

2 thoughts on “What Motivates You?”

  1. Finding motivation is extremely difficult for me, I’m always so tired. After I’m done with school work for the week, I’m completely burned out and usually don’t have time for anything else before the next week starts. Kudos to you for keeping motivated to write and stay on the same train. That’s one of the hardest things for me to do.

    Like

    1. One of my favorite sayings is “If I waited for perfection, I’d never get any writing done,” and that’s part of the motivation to keep writing. If something really sticks with me, I’ll write it down, even if it comes out like crap because I can always edit it later when I’m in a more focused mindset.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

